There were no surprises in the Alabama primary that was held on Tuesday. Senate Banking Committee Chairman Richard Shelby easily won his primary over challenger Jonathan McConnell. Sen. Shelby won 65 percent of the vote to 25 percent for McConnell. The LSCU & Affiliates board of directors endorsed Sen. Shelby last month.

Other contested races saw Reps. Bradley Byrne, Martha Roby, Robert Aderholt, and Mike Rogers win with each garnering at least 60 percent of their precinct’s votes. The other three representatives, Terri Sewell, Gary Palmer, and Mo Brooks, were unopposed.

On the presidential side, Donald Trump won the Republican primary with 43 percent of the vote, while Hilary Clinton won the Democratic primary with 78 percent of the vote. See a full list of the primary winners by visiting’s Alabama Super Tuesday page.