The League of Southeastern Credit Unions & Affiliates (LSCU) honored Reps. Bradley Byrne (R-AL) and Dennis Ross (R-FL) as their 2016 Federal Lawmakers of the Year.

“Reps. Byrne and Ross have shown that they are willing to work to reduce regulatory burdens for credit unions,” said LSCU and Affiliates President/CEO Patrick La Pine in a statement. “They understand that these barriers mandate that credit unions focus more on compliance and less time on helping their membership. We thank Reps. Byrne and Ross for being willing to stand up for their local financial institutions.”

LSCU noted Byrne currently represents District 1 and serves on the House Armed Services, Education and the Workforce, and Rules Committees. During 2015 and 2016, Byrne co-sponsored credit union-supported legislation on mortgage choice and HR 2769, the Risk-Based Capital (RBC) Study Act. Byrne also signed the original RBC letter sent to the National Credit Union Administration and a Congressional letter to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau urging its use of exemption authority.

Ross has proven to be a strong supporter of credit unions while serving the Florida delegation until 2008 and more recently as a fourth-term U.S. congressional representative. He currently serves as Senior Deputy Majority Whip and on the Committees of Financial Services and Oversight and Government Reform. Ross, a passionate supporter of member business lending, the CU tax exemption, and regulatory relief, is always accessible to credit unions and understands our issues, LSCU stated.

The LSCU presents federal and state Lawmaker of the Year awards each year to show support for legislators that listen to the issues, co-sponsor legislation, and vote in support of the credit union position.