Closings will be posted on this page as we make contact with our credit unions.

Georgia credit union updates: 

CORE Savannah Branch – All branches closed Thursday. All branches will reopen on Friday.

Five Star CU – Brunswick and St. Simons Island open Thursday

GA’s Own CU– Savannah branch closed Wednesday.

GA Heritage FCU– All branches closed Thursday – will reopen on Friday.

GeoVista FCU  – Hunter, Richmond Hill, Pooler, Ft. Stewart, Hinesville, Rincon, and Statesboro branches closed on Thursday.

Glynn County FECU – Closed Thursday. Open 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. on Friday.

Interstate CU – All branches open Thursday.

Marshland Credit Union – Nahunta branch is open Thursday. Main office drive through open Thursday from 1:00-5:30 p.m. All other branches closed Thursday. All branches will reopen on Friday.

MembersFirst CU – Savannah branch closed Thursday. Will reopen on Friday.

Memorial Health CU – Closed Thursday. Will reopen on Friday.

Mercy FCU – Closed Thursday. Will reopen on Friday.

Powerco FCU – Savannah branch closed Thursday and Friday.

Savannah Postal Credit Union – Closed Thursday. No update on Friday.

Savannah Schools FCU – All branches closed Thursday. All branches will reopen on Friday.

Savastate Teachers FCU – Closed Thursday. Will reopen on Friday.

United 1st FCU – Drive-in open in Kingsland Thursday and St. Marys. Call center open Thursday. All branches will reopen on Friday.


Florida credit union updates: 

Coastline Federal Credit Union: All branches will be closing early Tuesday, Sept. 3 at 1 p.m. All branches will be closed Wednesday, Sept. 4. Depending upon conditions, branches are expected to resume normal business hours on Thursday, Sept. 5.

Community CU of Florida will be closed Tuesday, Sept. 3.

Fairwinds Credit Union resumes normal business operations Wednesday, Sept. 4 with the exception of three Volusia County branches, which will open at noon.

IBMSECU will close all South Florida branches Tuesday, Sept. 3, and will reopen Wednesday, Sept. 4, if weather permits.

Priority Credit Union has reopened all locations.

Space Coast CU will be closed Tuesday, Sept. 3.

VyStar Credit Union offices and branches in Duval, Clay, Flagler, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns, and Volusia counties will be closed Tuesday, Sept. 3, and Wednesday, Sept. 4.

Most CUs in the Jacksonville area will be closed Tuesday, Sept. 3 with more updates to come as the storm makes landfall.


On Thursday, Gov. Ron DeSantis issued Executive Order 19-190, declaring all 67 counties of Florida under a State of Emergency with the approach of Hurricane Dorian. The new order is an amendment to Wednesday’s declaration, 19-189 in Florida, which covered counties then thought to be in the path of the storm.  The governor is urging all Floridians on the East Coast to prepare for impacts, as the latest forecasts from the National Hurricane Center project Hurricane Dorian will make landfall on Florida’s East Coast as a major hurricane.

The LSCU has been closely following the storm’s progress and has already met with its Southeastern Disaster Coordinating Council, a group including key system partners and state and federal regulators. We will continue to update you as more information is available.

By declaring a state of emergency, DeSantis is ensuring that state and local governments have ample time, resources and flexibility to prepare. The State Emergency Operations Center has activated to a Level 2, enhancing the coordination between federal, state and local emergency management agencies.

“Because of the uncertainty in the track of this storm, every resident along the East Coast needs to be ready,” said Florida Division of Emergency Management Director Jared Moskowitz.“As updates come out, it’s important that Floridians continue to pay attention to media and local officials as the track of this storm has been changing and can continue to change rapidly. By having an Executive Order in place and by activating the State Emergency Operations Center to a Level 2, we are fully prepared to support any community that might be impacted.”



Hurricane Dorian is predicted to arrive in Georgia Wednesday. A storm surge warning is also in effect from Tybee Island to the Florida line.

Last Thursday, Gov. Brian Kemp declared a state of emergency for 12 South Georgia counties, including: Brantley, Bryan, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce. and Wayne.

A mandatory evacuation is in effect in Georgia for individuals east of I-95 in Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty, and McIntosh Counties due to Hurricane Dorian.

Contraflow of I-16 will begin at 8 a.m. Tuesday morning. Now is the time to put your emergency plan into action. Stay tuned to your local news and follow all guidance from your local emergency management officials.

An Executive Order was issued temporarily suspending federal rules and regulations which would otherwise limit the hours that operators of commercial vehicles may ensure an uninterrupted supply of petroleum products, emergency supplies, and food. This Executive Order also temporarily waives specific weight, height, and length restrictions for vehicles traveling through Georgia for purposes of disaster preparation or relief, subject to Department of Public Safety oversight and permitting.

For the most current weather updates on Hurricane Dorian, check the National Hurricane Center website. Hurricane Dorian is currently a dangerous category 5 hurricane at this time. There is still time to prepare! Please visit our Hurricane Preparedness page for information on how to get ready.

Find more resources available in Georgia here.