During the PAC Awards Luncheon, Rep. Shevrin Jones (D-West Park) was honored as the Florida 2017 Lawmaker of the Year.

The Florida Advocacy Conference kicked off with an update from LSCU President/CEO Patrick La Pine, who discussed CFPB changes, the need for continued data breach standards, and the need to remain in the fight against payday lending. La Pine encouraged credit unions to stay engaged and tell lawmakers the credit union story by sharing real world stories.

Following introductory comments, Jared Ross, SVP, Association Services & Governmental Affairs, and Jennifer Martin, Sr. Director, Governmental Affairs, explained the legislative priority issues and what to expect in the lawmaker meetings scheduled for the afternoon.  Issues of importance included allowing credit unions to participate in the qualified public deposits program; disposition of small accounts; protecting consumers from predatory lending; improving financial literacy; and strengthening consumer data security.

During the Political Action Committee Awards Luncheon, Rep. Shevrin Jones (D-West Park) was honored as the Florida 2017 Lawmaker of the Year. Rep. Jones was the sponsor of legislation that included credit unions under an exemption from regulation under the Florida Deceptive & Unfair Trade Practices Act which was signed into law last year.

During the luncheon, PAC Fundraising Awards were given to credit unions for outstanding results.

The Chairman’s award was presented to the credit unions who raised the highest percentage over their goal based on asset size. Awards were given to the following credit unions:

  • Under 50M
    • FedPAC – Pompano Beach City Employee Credit Union
    • CUPAC – Everglade Federal Credit Union
  • 50-100M
    • FedPAC – Tallahassee- Leon Federal Credit Union
    • CUPAC – Country Federal Credit Union
  • 100-500M
    • FedPAC – Community South Credit Union
    • CUPAC – Envision Credit Union
  • 500M
    • FedPAC – First Commerce Credit Union
    • CUPAC – First Commerce Credit Union

The Chapter Leadership Award was presented to the chapter who raised the highest amount over its PAC goal. The Tallahassee chapter was honored for raising 228% of its fundraising goal.

The last award presented was the President’s Award given to the credit union who raised the most PAC funds overall in 2017. Suncoast Credit Union was honored for raising $86,261.06 for FedPAC and CUPAC.  Thank you to all of our contributors to this important cause.

Another highlight of the day included a warm welcome to the League by the Chairman of the House Insurance & Banking Subcommittee Rep. Danny Burgess (R – San Antonio) who is also a member of the Supervisory Committee  for San Antonio Citizens FCU.